Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411283 Posts in 69325 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 29, 2024, 04:03:06 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)2D Sun/Moon visual effects
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: 2D Sun/Moon visual effects  (Read 817 times)
AuntEggma
Level 0

View Profile
« on: November 14, 2016, 10:11:17 AM »

Hello all, I've got a game in the works where (depending on the room) the moon/sun slowly moves across the sky.

My ultimate goal is to have some sort of glow or bloom effect - or something else potentially, depending on what winds up looking good. Maybe just a background that changes color as the moon/sun moves along it....

I'm just beginning to look into what ways there might be to do this and I was hoping to get some opinions/resources to start digging into.

I'll definitely be giving shaders a deeper look, but beyond that I'm wondering if anyone might be able to suggest something clever to start messing with in GameMaker or something to read so I can get headed in the right direction.

Here's a gif of what a room looks like now.

Love to hear ideas or to just be pointed in a good direction
JohnsyJohnsy
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2016, 10:22:35 AM »

I'd google image search for : 'day night cycle gif'
PirateFish
Level 0

:(){ :|: & };:

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2016, 03:46:47 PM »

What JohnsyJohnsy said. But having light illuminate the dark at night also helps with selling night time.
AuntEggma
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2016, 08:22:57 AM »

I think this video will be useful for what I'm trying to achieve.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iwc0UZgDiGg

I'm writing this out for my own sake, as well as for anyone that might stumble upon this in the future...