Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411485 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58427 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 04:21:37 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralA lost developer with 8 years of experience seeking advice on what to do next
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: A lost developer with 8 years of experience seeking advice on what to do next  (Read 1172 times)
test84
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: November 19, 2016, 08:44:25 PM »

I've been making games for about 8 years now. I spare you the details but I've made games for PC, Android, AR, etc.

(It my probably seem promoting so I don't mention my games but if you are interested, let me know and I'll reply)

After failing to make a proper platformer with Flash, I've started to work on a local AAA-ish hack n' slash game in a young game dev company as programmer/technical artist/etc.

Feeling the urge to develop my games and get indie, I did quit and started making a platformer that we ended up selling to a flash game portal and the money was not astonishing but it seemed just ok for 9 months of very hard work. I've recently published it on Steam and it had very good feedback and some sales. Few people liked it (it has 103 reviews) but ~94% of them liked it and recommends it. (Some of them even ask for the sequel)

After the boom of F2P market, I told my team members that I want to make F2P and want to quit. The next 4 years were disastrous. But I've learned very valuable stuff about myself and the scene.

I'm 33, utterly broke, and honestly don't know what do with my life. I feel that I've lost a lot of opportunities and maybe that I haven't had my "moment" until now, it's getting very riskier to continue this path but something inside tells me to continue.