Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411426 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 10:44:15 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsCyberpunk City Simulator
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Cyberpunk City Simulator  (Read 8390 times)
mflux
Level 0

View Profile
« on: December 05, 2016, 10:11:48 PM »

Hello TIGforums, this is my first time posting here.

Cyberpunk City Simulator

(Image by Klaus, un-related, using only as target images)

Procedurally Generated (and editable) Buildings
Certain buildings are procedurally generated and can be directly edited by you.

Example of live building edit in-game:

Some examples of things it can generate:

You can find a gallery here: http://imgur.com/a/BNDht

Development So Far

Work started in 2014. The very first version was a pixel-art based isometric graphics with procedurally generated buildings. It was being made in Phaser.js for web browsers and it had a THREE.js building generator built internally which rendered into sprites:

Early procedural buildings.

The next version was built entirely in 3D using WebGL / THREE.js.

Work on this version stopped after realizing that deferred lights in WebGL was simply too slow, and I needed lots of lights for the look and feel.

I then ported the entire game to Unreal Engine. The base game-core is untouched, the simulation still runs in Javascript and is fast enough to do what it needs, however all the heavy lifting for game-engine related things are passed to Unreal.

I recently buckled down and started focusing on gameplay and temporarily simplified the art so that things are clear what they are and how they work.

And finally, I have a first dev diary video here

About myself