Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411275 Posts in 69323 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 09:32:46 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)Critique my Portfolio/Art
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Critique my Portfolio/Art  (Read 1225 times)
pynkuu
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: December 08, 2016, 02:14:56 PM »

Hello, my name is Tiffany and I'm looking for my feedback!
I recently graduated and I'm relatively new to doing game art. I just finished my first real job doing contract art & animation work on HTML5 games and am looking for new opportunities/deciding where I want to place my focus.
I'm really curious about what others think of my portfolio, what could be improved, what areas are lacking, and so on. Please let me know what you think, any feedback definitely helps me become better at marketing myself and focusing on the skills developers look for.
Thank you!

Link to portfolio: http://pynkuu.com/

I have this recent concept sketch outside of my portfolio that I will post here also for critique.

eerr
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2016, 11:10:50 AM »

Mmmm, I'm no artist, but around the area of the eyes it looks flat to me. As if the closer eye has retreated to a 2d plane to pair with the other eye. It clashes with your full 3d look.
on Fig. 3 the lighting doesn't seem to match from the central eye vs the left thigh. It's more important to have a coherent direction than perfectly blended shading. Again, I'm not an artist so I don't know how you would fix that.

I want to know the exact reason you flipped the character! It really does matter. And the direction of lighting. Don't. Be. Vague.