Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411425 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 09:06:47 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignSo how does one become a good game designer?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: So how does one become a good game designer?  (Read 1087 times)
Hambone
Level 1

follow on the twitter @The_Hambone1988

View Profile WWW
« on: January 10, 2017, 09:56:05 PM »

I know this question has probably been answered a time or two; probably on this exact forum and probably all over the internets (yes, I said internets). But, I will ask anyways because well... I want to ask it from my perspective.

Background Information:

I am a 28 year old virgin (jk) male. I finished a degree in Computer Science a year ago from a local university. I am a decent programmer and currently work as one for a company that writes corporate card management software. I actually like my job, I actually love my job. However, I do long to work on projects (games) in my free-time for two main reasons: one, because I want to become a better programmer/smart, two, because I want to at least try to give something my own little whirl and see if I can't make something decent and maybe make a little cash. I have always been interested in game development, probably more interested in gamdev than actually playing games (this is another dilemma I face, I'll ask about this another time  Cheesy). When in school I took a few game development courses and managed to graduate with a few (shitty) games under my belt. By shitty I mean the design was horrible but I would say the programming was decent. I am very interested in low-level game programming (engines, game-play programming, architecture) but I know if I ever want to make a game I have to get better at the whole design part  Grin.