Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411500 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 02:26:23 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Development platform to create a simple adventure game
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Development platform to create a simple adventure game  (Read 1439 times)
papernoise
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: January 11, 2017, 05:20:54 AM »

I'm planning to do a small 2d adventure game (as in point&click adventure), I'm currently feeling very inspired by Among Thorns and Void&Meddler. It will be a mostly for-fun project, and a bit of an exercise in game design. I'm a graphic designer with limited experience in programming (I did mess with Actionscript back in the Flash days... but that's it). I don't mind learning new skills, but I know my limitations and I know I'll never become a skilled coder.
So I'm currently looking at Stencyl and GameMaker as relatively easy entry-level solutions. Is there anything else I should check out? I guess things like Unity are a bit above my league, since they require quite some coding experience, or am I mistaken?

Note: I did search the forums to see if anybody else had asked something like this before, but couldn't find anything, if I'm asking this thing for the 100th time, please excuse me and point me at any existing thread that might answer this question.
papernoise
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2017, 05:26:17 AM »

Forgot to mention one thing: I would prefer to work on MacOS. I do have a spare windows computer, but I don't use it as often.
Thaumaturge
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2017, 09:45:24 AM »