Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411275 Posts in 69323 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 06:32:36 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralWhere did you start?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Where did you start?  (Read 810 times)
IHeXeDI
Level 0

View Profile
« on: January 11, 2017, 03:13:27 PM »

So I'm new to the whole game design thing. I'd like to know: Where did you guys start when you first started learning? What was the hardest challenge? Why didn't you quit? Any tips for a noobie like me? And what inspired you the most?

As for me I've just started learning. I thought I would go over the different areas of Game Design and then begin putting my thoughts of what I want to do on paper so that I can organize them into the realms of possible and impossible XD

My hardest challenge so far is just figuring out where to start >.< because there is just so much information everywhere! That and keeping motivated >.< thankfully i've set my goals low and will slowly set the bar higher over time.

As for inspiration, I'm inspired by rpg games mainly. Usually the older ones with an emphasis on story. I want to make something that can move another person the same way that Baten Kaitos or Tales of Symphonia did for me. I want to make a game someday that gives a player that little flutter in the heart like Rune Factory did for me. It's inspirational to me. I like making people happy and video games make me happy ^^
kkairos
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2017, 12:18:38 AM »

Play, find out what makes you tick as a gamer, what doesn't, and why. Think critically about the systems. It sounds like you're drawn towards an emphasis on narrative--maybe examine whether mostly RPGs like Baten Kaitos move you, or also more implicit narratives like the one in Journey?