Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411511 Posts in 69375 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 01:13:05 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignHow to have faith in your ideas?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: How to have faith in your ideas?  (Read 969 times)
Skylar1146
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: January 20, 2017, 07:33:05 PM »

Hi all,

I have been working on games for about 4 years now. I am largely a programmer, but I can do art too. I have finished a full game to completion, and am working on going about the next one.

I always get myself in a rut, where I will have 100's of ideas, but none of them is the idea, that perfect idea that is what I want as a gamer, and as a designer. I may find an idea I like, write out some documents, work a day on it, lose faith and try to think of a new idea, then start all over again. It's a vicious cycle I have suffered ever since I started game development. I feel my game isn't fun enough, or unique, too ambitious, and most importantly: people won't like it.

What are your tips for having the willpower to push through? What do you do when you think your idea is shit? I am tired of this cycle and just want to work on something again.
PaulWv2.017
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2017, 11:26:52 PM »

Even if my idea looks stupid and/or silly and something I'd be uncomfortable with other people looking at, after a night of rest or a week of time spent on other things - I remind myself and look at all the other crap that has gotten published, from print to television and gaming, and hold my idea up to the worst of those. Even my worst farts of ideas are better than some of the ones that have seen the light of day.