Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411504 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 05:11:16 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignHow to learn to design levels\puzzles?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: How to learn to design levels\puzzles?  (Read 1336 times)
Lostghbear
Level 0

View Profile
« on: January 28, 2017, 09:20:34 AM »

Hello, everyone!
I am making 3d puzzle adventure!
I have an artist and 3d modeler(sort of) in my team, and I am a programmer and 3d designer too.
But we get stuck with designing puzzles\levels.
And I cannot find any tutorials on this topic? Any tips?

Thanks Smiley

PaulWv2.017
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2017, 10:36:11 AM »

I really hate being someone who's mean and negative, but if your goal is to make puzzle game and you can't figure out puzzles to put in front of the player, maybe you should make a different kind of game.

Electric Boogaloo: "This time it's serious."
Lostghbear
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2017, 10:47:33 AM »

I really hate being someone who's mean and negative, but if your goal is to make puzzle game and you can't figure out puzzles to put in front of the player, maybe you should make a different kind of game.

The thing is I've done some clever puzzles, but now I have run out of ideas.
You not mean, don't worry. Just I think I really should learn this stuff.

st33d
Level 2

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2017, 10:50:42 AM »

The only recipe for lack of skill is practice.

Or money!  Hand Money Left Grin Hand Money Right

If you don't have money I would recommend http://www.puzzlescript.net/ - there's a lot of examples of puzzles on there. They appear to be all in 2D but when you know how the language works, it's all about stacking layers of patterns: 3D.