Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411507 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 03:05:14 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsSleep Tight - Pillow Forts and Monsters - Dev Log
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Sleep Tight - Pillow Forts and Monsters - Dev Log  (Read 9267 times)
maxxburman
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: February 06, 2017, 12:07:56 PM »

Intro:

Hey guys, I’m very new to the indie scene, but I’ve spent the last year working on a game with a couple very talented people, and I wanted to start a thread here to backtrack, share a bit of our development process, as well as keep people updated on our future stages.

The Game:
The game is called Sleep Tight. You play a kid defending your bedroom from monsters that come out at night. You spend your day’s building pillow forts, unlocking new guns, and buying power-ups, all to prepare for the night and the next wave of monsters. The goal is to see how many nights you can survive.

The Idea:
Jed and I grew up together, and have known eachother since we were 8 years old. In high school we made some games together. He is an amazing programmer, and I’m a decent artist. After high school, I went off to pursue a career on the art side of movies and video games (www.maxxburman.com) and Jed went off to pursue Computer Science.

While Jed was in college, he sent me a little protoype. It had placeholder art and was made in Panda, but it was super addicting and fun. I fell in love with the gameplay, and knew that it had a lot of potential. Years passed, but I never forgot about that game. In 2016, I finally sat down and started teaching myself unreal. As I started to resurrect this game, and come up with a look and style, Jed joined me to make the game we’ve wanted to make for so long.

The Gameplay: