Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411512 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 04:07:57 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusiness[Question] Tips for Marketing a Patreon
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [Question] Tips for Marketing a Patreon  (Read 1060 times)
ChocolatierGames
Level 0

View Profile
« on: February 08, 2017, 07:13:04 PM »

Hello! I am a beginner to the indie dev scene (I started about 8 months ago) and I have recently set up a patreon at https://www.patreon.com/ChocolatierGames to help fund my Game Dev and Game Journalism I do. Any tips for getting out there, or any critique on the page itself?
woodsmoke
Level 4

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2017, 02:16:18 AM »

Only regarding gamedev:
I think 8 months gamedev experience is not enough to make quality games which people will give you money for, but I may be wrong. You need oustanding content to "get out there". I would focus on getting very good before thinking about money. You are still young and have loads of free time to git guud. I wish I had started making games at your age. The world is yours!

VampireSquid
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2017, 02:49:07 PM »

First make a game.  Then worry about patreon.  It makes no sense for someone to pay you in the hopes that you *might* make something.  There are lots of people who have been developing games in their spare time for years, have small user bases and make nothing.  Those are the people it was designed for.
WarpQueen
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2017, 12:27:29 AM »

I agree with those who wrote above. Other than that, maybe go in and be a patreon supporter yourself? Looks better to have one supporter than none. Smiley

teemuki
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2017, 04:10:24 AM »