Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411487 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58427 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 11:46:25 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsVeins of the Earth [RPG, roguelike, isometric pixel art] dev log & feedback
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
Print
Author Topic: Veins of the Earth [RPG, roguelike, isometric pixel art] dev log & feedback  (Read 9988 times)
Zireael
Level 4

View Profile
« on: February 19, 2017, 05:41:26 AM »

Hello guys,
I'm new to TIGSource but I was directed here by a couple of nice souls such as Kyzrati.

I have been working on my game in my spare time for the last 3 years. The amount of said time varied from month to month.

The game is a roguelike with RPG elements. The title is a reference to the fact that most of it takes place underground (getting to the surface is a win condition). However the underground is not boring - there are caverns, mazes, as well as cities and whole other planes of existence to explore!

Quite a lot of the features are just things I, the dev, happen to like or wanted to experiment with. For instance, I liked the family/dynasty aspect of Crusader Kings 2, so one of the things I implemented was the ability to have a child. The game being a roguelike, having a child...

... can let you keep playing even if your starting character dies.

One of the things I loved about classic RPGs was the character portraits. So let's have...

... procedurally generated NPC portaits... as well as languages affecting the way your character communicates with the NPCs. These two know the same language, so they can communicate, and the game swaps some words for the words in their language. If your character doesn't know the language, the text is scrambled instead...

---
Some boring technical details: