Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411423 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 07:10:13 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)Creativeantitrope
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: antitrope  (Read 3477 times)
Pfotegeist
« on: February 19, 2017, 08:32:54 AM »

I guess I'm not very good with words. Is there a better way to describe a like-design? Besides just calling it innovative?

Another thing we could discuss is if game anatomies are important to distinguish like well, biological anatomies. Concepts that are frequent like Physics, stealth, and story are broad categories of game. Minimalism is a pop-media reference that means something less than what we could have in pretty much any medium. Like-games yield various innovation, but it is hard to distinguish which mechanics a Zelda-like (not a clone) references; was it the items, the dungeons, the map?   

The terminology does leave a gap. By now I know other people had a chance to beat me to it because I didn't have the energy to write a book on the subject or research. Was there already a word? I can change the subject title.

new new intro
When someone thinks they have a great idea but in order for it to work they need to clone all of the preexisting functionality of a game they just played and possibly some of the design, they may actually have thought of an antitrope.

Now I suppose calling something anti sounds negative but this is what I'm really thinking of when I say antitrope.

an·ti·trope (an'ti-trōp),
An organ or appendage that forms a symmetrically reversed pair with another of the same type, for example, the right and left legs of a vertebrate.
[anti- + G. tropē, a turn]
http://medical-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/antitrope