Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411423 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 12:49:53 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsDieselpunk - Airships [Tactics] [Prototype]
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Dieselpunk - Airships [Tactics] [Prototype]  (Read 6731 times)
Chewie
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: February 23, 2017, 03:15:31 PM »

Hi I'm Andrew "Chewie" Vasiliev and I'm a game developer by day...And by night =D

I've decided to start DevLog for this project to keep myself motivated & productive ,also to practice my writing skills.

P.S. I suck at English, I'm sorry in advance...

Monthly reports:

1st month

Before / After (1 month):

Genre
Tactics/Strategy with controllable pause (is it the right term?)
Core of the gameplay is tactical combats.

Description:
You're a captain of the massive airship in a Dieselpunk setting and most of the battles will be one against many.

What to expect as main activities:
 Struggle to keep each module on the ship alive
 Management of the crew for the best performance in current situation
 Planning and execution of tactical maneuvers

Combat mechanics:
- damage per module, without stupid total HP
- crew management
- pause to give orders
- 3d navigation

Engine:
Unity 5.5.1
Physics used for collisions/triggers and not for movement

---------------------------------------------------------

Progress so far
I'm working on the prototype on my free time and here is the results after 6 days:

day 1-2:
It was nice productive weekend. Beginning of the prototype - cannons firing / ships moving / fx playing.

day 3-4:
Updated ship model so it looks a little more serious than a piece of plastic in the air. Also added debug UI to monitor internal modules of the ship, currently there is crew count/capacity and hitpoints/durability.

day 5: