Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411504 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 04:23:58 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralI can't start working on my first indie game. Kind of the writer's blank page
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: I can't start working on my first indie game. Kind of the writer's blank page  (Read 2322 times)
Drean64
Level 0

View Profile
« on: February 27, 2017, 03:57:32 PM »

Hi, I worked as a programmer on some videogame projects, apart from that, my main professional activity is web development with PHP.
I've been wanting to make games independently from quite a long time now, but never actually achieved to even get started on any project.
As a comparison, another side project I wanted to make was an NES emulator, and I did that, although I made it on my free time and it took a long time, I had no problem starting it, doing small steps of improvement and take it to a point where it does actually run many roms and looks quite well.

But with the game projects it's different for some reason.
One thing that happens to me is that I have many ideas and never decide which one to do first. As soon as I start working on one of them, I regret not working on the others.
Other thing is that I work from home, even my "daytime" job, so I find it very hard to manage time even for that main job, so managing my free time to work on the game and every other activities I have to do in my regular life, is even harder.

I go regularly to many local dev scene events, I've made some good networking there, I've talked to good indie game designers, but I can't seem to find out what is keeping me from making it.
I've once been told that maybe it's just not my thing, that indie game development is not for everybody.