Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411518 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58431 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 28, 2024, 01:49:49 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Simple Bounding Box collision detection in 2D space
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Simple Bounding Box collision detection in 2D space  (Read 13176 times)
Freezy
Level 0

View Profile
« on: April 30, 2009, 01:12:33 PM »

Greetings!
First of all, I'm really new to all this Graphics stuff and i never was a pro in mathemathics, but i consider myself as 'came rally far' Smiley
Currently i try to implement a little 2D engine using SDL and C++ and it works pretty well. I'm able to draw, rotate and scale a texture (yeeeah i know, awesome Big Laff but it also has a StateManager and FPSControll  Wink). So I'm familiar to mess around with my ProjectionMatrix and tought of implementing a simple Bounding Box collision detection. This is where the fun starts. My basic understanding is, that i can transform my sprites and the mouse coordinates back to the 'standart' matrix to determine the collision without the scaling and rotaion stuff:

Picure 1 represents my scaled, rotated sprite in the center of the screen and the Mousepointer right over it. The sprite is rendered in the transformed matrix and the Mousepointer in the 'standart/resett/loadIdentity' Shrug one. Now i transform the sprite back to it's origins (upper-left corner, unscaled, unrotated), copy the Mouse to the transformet matrix (red pointer) and also transform the mouse back to the sprites origins. Hypothetical this should work, but i have no idea how to 1:1 'copy' the Mouse from the 'standart' matrix to the projected place in the transformed matrix. Or is there a better approach to solve this?