Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411491 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 25, 2024, 03:37:10 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperPlaytestingI Hate Dots! An abstract minimalist arcade
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: I Hate Dots! An abstract minimalist arcade  (Read 442 times)
kerempooh
Level 0

View Profile
« on: March 19, 2017, 01:22:34 AM »

Hi there!

I Hate Dots! is my first attempt at solo development. I've got some experience in bigger projects, both in games and other multimedia, but always from a team-member perspective. To be honest, I made it as more of an experiment in game concept minimalism and a way to directly and personally experience each and every step in developing and publishing a game.

However, surprisingly the game turned out to be fun in its own right (or so at least my friends and family tell me  Roll Eyes) so why not bring it up a notch?

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.gumbosoup.IHD

It is currently in open beta stage and I'd appreciate any and all criticism and suggestions before I roll it out to production. I'm particularly worried about difficulties in the Arcade mode. Also, should I add anything, remove anything, graphics style, sound, store presentation?

Thank you!

CypherCove
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2017, 04:23:08 PM »

I tried it out for a few minutes. The font and color palette remind me of Splatoon, in a good way. The music choices are so painfully bad to my ears that I cannot stand to have the game open for more than a minute unless I disable music. There are games with chiptunes that I can appreciate, although I think in general they are unpleasant to hear.