Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411500 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 25, 2024, 11:55:52 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralHow to get ideas
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: How to get ideas  (Read 997 times)
Piecraft
TIGBaby

View Profile
« on: April 03, 2017, 06:14:57 PM »

Hello! I'm a new developer, and I've never released a video game for money, just a bunch of free ones. But I wanna start work on a video to try to get up on to steam, and sell for money. But the problem is I have no idea what to make, and I have no idea how to get ideas. Does anyone have good ways or tips to help get ideas for a game to make?
ViktorTheBoar
Level 3

Hello :)

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2017, 08:04:19 AM »

I thought ideas are the easy part :D

Try this https://twitter.com/gameideamachine

Schoq
Level 10

♡∞

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2017, 08:59:53 AM »

ask a marketing professional what's hot these days then start working on the exact inverse

♡ ♥ make games, not money ♥ ♡
J-Snake
Level 10

A fool with a tool is still a fool.

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2017, 09:48:17 AM »

Ideas are non-computable, there is no algorithm you can apply that guarantees delivery of useful ideas. You either have a good idea or you don't. Some people get precious ideas on their toilet. That's life, baby.

However you can increase the chance of getting ideas. There is learning. You can learn from the already established pool of games or other influences in life. So play games and extract the ideas behind them. The more ideas you add to your personal pool the more likely you will come up with your own after some tangent brain-sparks.