Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411433 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58418 Members - Latest Member: Pix_RolleR

April 20, 2024, 06:25:13 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsUntitled Forest Puzzler
Pages: [1] 2 3
Print
Author Topic: Untitled Forest Puzzler  (Read 10254 times)
GrumpyGiant
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: April 18, 2017, 03:53:20 PM »

I've been working on a game in my spare time for a while now, and I thought it was time to start posting something here. Right now it's about 1% complete, but I wanted to get it out there.

I've tried making indie games before and so far it's not amounted to much. I usually start with grand ideas, but then I always reach this point where the gulf between what I have and what I intended to make is so incredibly vast that I get depressed and give up. I'm a programmer at heart, and not the best artist in the world, and so without decent art to work with I've not had much luck so far.

People often recommend to start with just an empty box world, nail the gameplay first, and then worry about the art later on. Some people can work just fine like that, but I don't think I can. It seems to me that the art and the game are intertwined -- it's not just about raw gameplay, you need to create feel. You need to make the player feel that this world is real, and that the actions they take in it are tied to that particular world, and wouldn't be the same actions if the world were changed.