Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411517 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58431 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 28, 2024, 01:35:39 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)UI art
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: UI art  (Read 5402 times)
Will Vale
Level 4

View Profile WWW
« on: May 04, 2009, 02:18:29 AM »

I've been doing some UI artwork for an update of Sublight - I figured some graphical bling would be just the motivation I need (plus I've got a new tablet and I wanted a play). I'm really a coder so be gentle with me!

The game is sort of HUD-looking, see the screenshot from my compo thread:

I wanted to put a physical element in there, like a screen frame, and I thought this was OK until I tried it - much too grey next to the game palette:

So I thought about it a bit more and decided to do a black screen with a physical button embedded in it - no border, no grey elements. I haven't done the embedding yet (glass edge + PCB contacts??) but here's a go at the button:

downsized from

in case I want a bigger one! The idea is that when you run the game, this will be the only element, and when you click it all the HUD stuff flickers into being. It should also be the menu/quit button during the game.

Cheers,

Will

PS: I didn't put this in the Art or Pixels threads because it didn't seem to fit - hope that's OK. Feel free to add more UI art here or move this elsewhere Smiley
Important
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2009, 02:46:30 AM »

I've also been doing some GUI stuff later and yours is a lot, lot prettier than mine!

The menu button looks good, like it's a plastic shell with an LED that lights it up.
Will Vale
Level 4

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2009, 02:56:31 AM »