Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411505 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 09:19:24 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)When to use coroutines?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: When to use coroutines?  (Read 1672 times)
PogueSquadron
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« on: May 27, 2017, 05:41:27 PM »

I'm still new to this and in working on my prototype, I think I've been using coroutines improperly.

When is it a good idea to use coroutines exactly? The course I took used respawning as an example so that it would be easy to add a delay to the respawn using WaitForSeconds. This had me thinking that coroutines could have all sorts of uses. When is it a bad idea though? For instance, I wanted to use one to implement a shoulder charge in my character, using WaitForSeconds as a way to measure the duration of his "dash." Am I overthinking it? Should I just use a counter that uses -= Time.deltaTime instead?

Or am I correct in that coroutines can be used fairly often without worry? Is there a general rule of thumb in regards to what they should be used for?
Teknokommari
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2017, 03:07:55 AM »

I'm still new to this and in working on my prototype, I think I've been using coroutines improperly.

When is it a good idea to use coroutines exactly? The course I took used respawning as an example so that it would be easy to add a delay to the respawn using WaitForSeconds. This had me thinking that coroutines could have all sorts of uses. When is it a bad idea though? For instance, I wanted to use one to implement a shoulder charge in my character, using WaitForSeconds as a way to measure the duration of his "dash." Am I overthinking it? Should I just use a counter that uses -= Time.deltaTime instead?