Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411490 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 04:22:00 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Engines that use type providers to access its assets? Like WPF?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Engines that use type providers to access its assets? Like WPF?  (Read 1569 times)
SouldomainTM
Level 0

"In Science We Trust"

View Profile
« on: July 20, 2017, 06:07:51 AM »

I'm making a custom game engine with F# for my game. I have some experience with UE4/Unity and even Xenko. I played around with the Windows Presentation Foundation, and found the idea of type providers interesting.

So, I was wondering. Whether I could, or should use type providers, too?! I figure, that with type providers I could remove the need of referencing objects within the editor. And keep this "programming" more to the actual programmers. Entities in the scene, that are given a name, would get automatically type provided.

It would be good if there was an engine that does this. So, I could see for myself whether that is even a good idea.

JWki
Level 4

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2017, 06:39:02 AM »

I tried looking up type providers and I can't make sense of it, can you try and explain what they are and what use you see for them in a game engine?
oahda
Level 10

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2017, 06:50:31 AM »

I don't understand what you mean either, sorry. :c

SouldomainTM
Level 0

"In Science We Trust"

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2017, 07:35:34 AM »