Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411428 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 01:21:50 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessQuestions from composer to developers
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Questions from composer to developers  (Read 1303 times)
Potion_Audio
Level 0

Hi, I make sounds

View Profile WWW
« on: July 23, 2017, 12:35:12 PM »

Hello,

I'm a freelance composer with some experience in the game industry, but still in a starting point.

I'm in a process of professionalize myself, so I want to gather lots of information.

I have various questions to developers that could hire a composer, here I go:

1- Do you receive a lot of e-mails of composers? usually you feel they send copy/paste mails?

2- How you would like a composer to present himself on a mail?

3- Do you usually work with a composer that you've collaborated before and you have confidence with? or you don't mind hiring a new composer because his style fits in?

4- If you meet a composer in an exhibition and he gives you a pendrive with his work so you can check it out, is this a plus point (if you like his work) to hire him? in another scenario, he just give you his business card.

5-  When you are working with a composer and he is doing his task on his studio (outsider), how do you keep the communication fresh and the confidence in the relationship growing.
Josh Bossie
Level 3

Fly Safe, Pup

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2017, 04:59:00 PM »

1. Yes, by far the #1 email I get is from composers. It's hard to say if they're following a template or not, but when it's completely unsolicited I definitely get the sense it is