Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411512 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 03:36:33 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsAeon Zenith - Dark Fantasy Bullet Hell Shooter
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Aeon Zenith - Dark Fantasy Bullet Hell Shooter  (Read 2836 times)
Squire Grooktook
Level 0

View Profile
« on: July 31, 2017, 02:35:31 AM »

Hello all. I am an amateur Computer Science student, and this is my first game development project. It's a classic bullet hell shmup, with a fantasy themed setting.

My goals for the game are as follows:

Gameplay

You probably know the drill, dodge and shoot your way through a gauntlet of scrolling stages, fighting for survival and high scores. Aeon Zenith is distinguished from other shmups by its emphasis on speed and aggression. It is designed to reward:

Speed
Unlike many modern bullet hell shooters, which require microscopic movements to squeeze through bullet waves, Aeon Zenith's patterns and enemies are designed to reward fast movement and large sweeping dodges. I hope that this game's moving, dodging, and shooting, will feel uniquely hyperactive and thrilling.

Improvisation
I try to forge a balance between static patterns and randomness. Memorizing stages and enemy patterns will increase your chance of survival, but no enemy or attack is entirely predictable. To survive throughout the game, you must use your reflexes and ability to improvise.

Aggression
Aeon Zenith features a powerful melee attack that rewards you for taking risks and closing the distance with your enemies.