Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411274 Posts in 69323 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 03:33:48 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignUnity5. Tutorial - Level Design [how i do it]
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Unity5. Tutorial - Level Design [how i do it]  (Read 804 times)
flatingo
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: August 05, 2017, 10:07:55 AM »

Hello, TIGS. I love to make and play games, especially 2D. This I had from the time of Dendy & Sega. I remember how I admired the aesthetics of games, and beautiful backgrounds rear. I always pay attention to it and can look at the design of the first level without pressing any keys. Well, I would like today to talk a little bit about the level design. My name is Flatingo and I am a Ukrainian game developer. I'm a simple guy who love to make games. I'm not a genius and not created a super cool games but something about it i know.

1. Color. The first thing you need to build your level is determined in a range of colours. I advise you to choose, initially, 3-5 gradation of similar colors, but not bright and not poisonous. If it's winter level, for example, choose white (snow), blue (sky), grey (stones, etc.), dark green (spruce). Always take into account the color of the main character, that he did not mix with level.

2. Placement. Initially, think about the level. Don't make it monotonous and very short. Monotonous and flat platforms will tire the player. You must determine the time when the player will become bored and not interested in playing on it. It is still in the book, Jesse Schell mentioned that the player needs is in the flow of pleasure and interest, without leaving it. On one side of flow is boredom level and monotonous, and on the other hatred because of the complexity, so the player must be in the middle of a stream.