Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411423 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 18, 2024, 01:42:43 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Optimizing A Tile Map With setActive, Will It Work?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Optimizing A Tile Map With setActive, Will It Work?  (Read 590 times)
Shipright
Level 0

View Profile
« on: August 14, 2017, 12:30:21 PM »

Hey Guys,

BLUF: How effective at optimization is deactivating game objects with setActive when dealing with LOTS of game objects in a scene but when you only need a few available to the player at any one time?

I'm a new game coder, and by new I mean messing around for years but only getting marginally better Smiley

So I am creating a game that has a rather large amount of tiles. A wilderness game where you hunt and trap animals and just sort of live outside. I know, so unique right? After reading up it sounds like the best way to do this is to not have individual object tiles and rather have a single plane sharing a mesh and designate the tiles via code. I went through a few tutorials on this (quill18creates was one).

That's all well and good, but I haven't been able to get the functionality out of the tiles I want that way, usually because most tutorials stop after texturing them and coding movement of units, but almost never go into adding functionality to the tiles themselves. In any case I am back to using objects.