Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411505 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 08:16:56 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)It feels wrong but I don't know why
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: It feels wrong but I don't know why  (Read 2368 times)
bombjack
Level 3

That's me :)

View Profile WWW
« on: August 16, 2017, 11:10:47 AM »

Being a programmer, I'm trying to make some art for a game I'm working on.
Unfortunately, it feels totally wrong and I don't know why.
I could tweak the tiles to have less repetition but that'a all I can found.
Any idea that could help ?

cynicalsandel
Level 7

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2017, 12:52:24 PM »

Other than making the tiling less noticeable like you already said, I'd say the problem is that the background needs to be more subtle. My eyes keep being drawn to it instead of the foreground. I think the tiling plays a role, but also the size and color of the rocks in my opinion.

I don't know what type of game you're making, so I just grabbed some images of metroidvanias because they were the first to come to mind when trying to find examples. Notice how the background elements are often both desaturated and lower in luminosity.

muki
Level 2

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2017, 08:08:48 PM »

Honestly for "programmer art" it's pretty good, a good start at least!

What cynicalsandel said. The background as well as being darker, could use a bit more empty space even.