Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411500 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 02:03:43 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArtWorkshopPixel moose - Looking to improve on pixel art
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Pixel moose - Looking to improve on pixel art  (Read 7053 times)
Koicrow
Level 0

Cryptic Corvid

View Profile WWW
« on: August 26, 2017, 07:17:59 PM »

Been tossing ideas around on what type of game I wanted to create and recently decided on making a pixelated side scroller. I have never done pixel art before and thought now would be a good time to learn. In all honesty, I find it fun making little pixel doodles, but I feel like I'm doing something wrong.

So here's the lil protagonist of the game.

If a scene is needed to properly critique the style, then by all means let me know and I'll make something.

For now, I just want critiques on what I have up there - if it's a good style, if there's anything wrong and how to fix it, etc. I would appreciate it a lot if anyone out there can point me in the right direction!
« Last Edit: August 26, 2017, 07:44:26 PM by Panzram » Logged
illugion
Level 1

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2017, 05:40:01 AM »

I see that this post is 3 months old and I'm not sure if you still want/need this feedback but here it goes. Cool

First of all, this is a good start, you definitely have talent and probably experience drawing from what I can see.
Ok, let's begin:

One thing you should consider, as you plan on making this character for a game, is the size of the sprite and how many animations you will make. As a begginner, it's usually pretty hard to start with a big sprite like that. I'd recommend you tried smaller sizes (such as 64x64, 32x32, 16x16).

BUT