Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411419 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: timothy feriandy

April 17, 2024, 07:53:47 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignThe story....
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: The story....  (Read 3518 times)
Niwdz
Level 0

View Profile
« on: October 15, 2007, 02:50:40 PM »

HI, I'm Niwdz and I'm a noob.
I just want to ask, how do you start the story of a video game? When we play Super Mario, we have to save the princess but why? Because Mario digs her. When we play cave story, we need to save a bunch of puppies and defeat some evil dude. What i want to know is how does a developer come up with story based on his/her idea.   
PS- If I posted in the wrong section, I'm sorry
Seth
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2007, 08:18:33 PM »

I don't think the basics of storytelling are that different in games that you can't look at a movie or a short story and ask the same questions...  your protagonist simply has to have a motive (he digs the princess, he digs the puppies) and wants to save them (so often you have to save someone/the world!)  In other games it's self preservation, or simply your job as a soldier and you're told to do it.

So I think video game stories are pretty simple to look at in that aspect, and it's easy to compare with other forms of story telling.  The part where video game stories usually get fucked are in what follows the instigating moment, where the hero leanrns that in order to save the world he has to collect the million pieces of a crystal.  This is used in games, because that extends the gametime significantly, but is terrible storytelling.   When have you seen a good movie that employed the searchathon?  You haven't, because it's boring!