Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411423 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 18, 2024, 02:40:33 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Depth and Stencil Buffer
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Depth and Stencil Buffer  (Read 792 times)
Sigma
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« on: September 29, 2017, 12:27:53 PM »

Hi all,
    I'm new to OpenGL going through depth and stencil buffers.I have a problem understanding the way stencil functions and mask works. If you can give me a simple explanation on the above it would be highly appreciated. I have added what i have understood below

point 1 : glStencilFunc(GL_ALWAYS, 1, 0xff); //always keep the fragment, i.e, set the stencil buffer bit as 1
point 2 : glStencilMask(0xff); //write the values to the stencil buffer as it is

if the above point 1 is correct, the following block should set all the bit as 1 wherever the mesh fragments are and it should be visible. And it is working as intended

glStencilFunc(GL_ALWAYS, 1, 0xff);
        glStencilMask(0xff);
        for (int i = 0; i < MESHES_COUNT; i++)
        {
            meshes->draw();
        }
        the question here is irrespective of whether i make this ( glStencilMask(0xff) ) call or not the meshes are visible. WHY?

Second question is,
after the previous call i'm making the following call to clip the next drawn model

glStencilFunc(GL_EQUAL, 1, 0xff);
glStencilMask(0x00);
//draw inverted model
ourModel->transform->setScale(glm::vec3(-0.1f));
ourModel->draw();

there is no clipping but when i comment glStencilMask(0x00) objects are clipped properly.

need to know what glStencilMask actually do?

All helps are highly appreciated!!!

« Last Edit: September 29, 2017, 11:07:06 PM by Sigma » Logged

ALourenco
Level 0

View Profile WWW