Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411490 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 25, 2024, 03:04:49 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)The "Elegant" Code Thread
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
Print
Author Topic: The "Elegant" Code Thread  (Read 5782 times)
Photon
Level 4

View Profile
« on: October 19, 2017, 09:40:40 AM »

On one hand, I like elegant code. On the other hand, I feel like I'm not very good at writing it. Its the constant struggle among the ideas of just getting something done, making something I'll be able to understand months down the road and making something that isn't a tangled mess.

So I want to see some examples of what you guys consider "elegant" code, whether it be from big-name projects or just your own.

Go!
ProgramGamer
Administrator
Level 10

aka Mireille

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2017, 10:13:38 AM »

I don't know if this counts, but I made a little macro thing a while ago to replicate the repeat statement from Game Maker in C++.

Code:
#define repeat(count) for(int i = 0; i < count; ++i)

repeat(5)
{
    //This code would execute five times
}

InfiniteStateMachine
Level 10

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2017, 11:13:33 AM »

I find pattern matching against discriminated unions in a language that supports to be quite pretty because it's such a common problem and such an airtight way to solve it (say as opposed to a c union with a enum indicating the type and fallible case statements).

I was going to post an example but then I realized my gitlab stuff isn't visible publicly and I dont know what my password is Sad

EDIT : This article is pretty much the exact opposite of what I'm describing haha

https://bitbashing.io/std-visit.html

EDIT EDIT : This article describes what I'm talking about