Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411421 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: timothy feriandy

April 18, 2024, 01:47:17 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Which of these games would be easiest for a non-programmer to make?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Which of these games would be easiest for a non-programmer to make?  (Read 1030 times)
sanwayzar
Level 0

Game Director at Game-O-Gami

View Profile WWW
« on: October 23, 2017, 06:28:03 PM »

I am an experienced game artist and designer, who wants to use Unity to prototype my game ideas. Preferably, without doing any coding.

I have spent many years working in the AAA industry and on indie games (digital and tabletop), both in art and design. I even studied programming (C++ and Java) during my first 2 years in college. But it has been nearly 20 years since I last did any coding. I do not want to devote myself to the several years of study and practice that it would take to become a good game programmer. Being a 3D animator, 2D artist, art director, and game designer is already enough hats for me to juggle.

So, what I am planning is to learn the basics of Unity by following their video tutorials (yes I know these involve coding), and learn to use a visual scripting tool (also through their tutorials.) I hope that by taking this approach, and purchasing extra tech goodies as needed from the Unity Asset Store, I will be able to hack together some fun game prototypes on my own - without being a programmer.

I realize that it is unrealistic to think that I could finish a game project 100% without any coding... but hopefully this approach would at least allow me to put together some impressive demos/prototypes that could help recruit interested indie programmers, or could help raise funding to hire some.