Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411490 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 25, 2024, 02:00:31 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignFreelace Writing Question
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Freelace Writing Question  (Read 892 times)
Uplinked
Level 0

Part time writer, full time badass.

View Profile WWW
« on: October 30, 2017, 08:32:40 PM »

Hello everyone!

So, I'm about a month into the writing scene, and people simply won't take, "Oh, I work for free." As an answer anymore. I'm a freelance writer, and I write scripts, dialogue, and lore. The thing is, I have ZERO ideas on what I should be charging for this. I'd love to turn this into a business someday, and that's exactly what I'll be going to college for, later on, however, I'd love some help with some rates. I'd like a per word system because tracking hours I write is next to impossible.

If anyone, a game dev who has hired freelancers before and paid a system they were happy with, or freelancers that have charged for word rates have any tips, I'd be extremely grateful. If you'd like information that could help you determine how much I should charge, I'd be happy to provide.

Uplinked

Writer, Student, Passionate Lover
I write things, and you should definitely have me write things for you.
Peace Soft
Level 0

All magic is made from corn

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2017, 11:28:34 AM »

I'd recommend developing your skills, not your business. I didn't respond to your portfolio thread because I didn't think I could avoid being mean, but if people are turning down free work from you, you shouldn't be confused as to why.