Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411423 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 18, 2024, 11:50:57 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsStargazer - A Pico-8 Shmup
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Stargazer - A Pico-8 Shmup  (Read 4155 times)
rarelikeaunicorn
Level 0

Just keep walking.

View Profile WWW
« on: October 31, 2017, 10:02:01 PM »

Hi folks! This is the first time I'm doing a devlog, here on tigsource or anywhere else. I'm a fairly underexperienced dev who has spent a long time designing but very little time implementing. With the rise of easier access software for getting games made in the last few years I've begun dipping my toe more regularly into implementation but still haven't been able to commit the time I'd like while I finish my undergrad degree.

Stargazer is the first project I've decided to be more proactive with as I work on it, in the hopes that sharing it as I go and getting feedback will help me keep motivated in my scarce free time.

What is Stargazer?

Stargazer is mostly a shmup inspired by classic arcade games from my childhood, especially the misremembered ones. I've had the idea sitting around for a year or two but left it for some time as I was unsure of how to make it in a way that I'd find interesting. Some recent design work from a larger project I'm concepting was off the aesthetic but fit really well into this older design and I've revived Stargazer in the last couple days.

I call it "mostly a shmup" right now because I'm drawing minor inspiration from other genres as I begin work, including RPGs, infinite runners, and visual novels. My hope is that Stargazer will have a classic feel while showcasing modern design elements and be a satisfying experience for the player both mechanically and narratively.