Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411426 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 10:07:03 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)2D Game Engines - Not For Beginners
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: 2D Game Engines - Not For Beginners  (Read 1448 times)
CLAVIGER_
Level 0

View Profile
« on: November 21, 2017, 09:26:20 AM »

Finding a good game engine for you is a difficult task. There is lots of research to be done and many reviews end up fairly heavily biased. I am a primarily 2D game developer. I have most experience using Gamemaker Studio, but I'm finding the engine's language, gml, to be quite sub par for what I want to make. I also have used Unity for a while and am currently working on a game in it, but I'm finding it has a much stronger focus on 3D games and I am not a huge fan of that. I was wondering if anybody else here who has experience making 2D games primarily has any recommendations for engines. I would prefer a language that is widely used: C#, C++, Lua, Python, etc. But I'm not picky!

CLAVIGER_
qMopey
Level 6

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2017, 09:28:18 AM »

Love2D  Waaagh!
CLAVIGER_
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2017, 09:33:16 AM »

Love2D  Waaagh!

Looks interesting! I've heard of this engine before but have been warned that the community/documentation is a little immature. This doesn't really bother me too much and I'm interested in trying out Lua, so I'll probably check this out! Have you used Love for any games? Have you had any issues with the engine at all?

CLAVIGER_
DivideUp
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2017, 09:56:05 AM »

I used to work with Sfml, and sometimes with Sdl.
CLAVIGER_
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2017, 10:03:18 AM »