Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411482 Posts in 69370 Topics- by 58426 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 12:27:26 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Determine how much light is hitting a player character
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Determine how much light is hitting a player character  (Read 986 times)
Mountain Forge Games
Level 0

View Profile
« on: December 28, 2017, 08:20:54 PM »

Hello! I am a little new to Unreal Engine, but I'd like to hear any suggestions about how this might be done in Unity as well. I'm a fan of Thief 2 and I wanted to create something similar with the lights. At present, I am using Volumes/Triggers to determine if the player is within distance of the light, then I check the distance from the player to the light and divide it by a float to get the visibility. The closer you are, the more visible you are. It is very simple.

Unfortunately, each light is not the same size and each area is not the same size, so this solution I found is very inconvenient and time consuming, both when setting up the volumes/triggers and modifying them when the level prototype undergoes alterations.

Because of this, I want to check how much light is hitting the player or how lit they are. So, I do not just want to know if a light is hitting the player, because I can do that, but I want to know by how much the player is lit up in the scene. Areas that are very dark will completely obscure the player(dark), areas with a lot of light will make them visible(light), and those areas in between will offer a value of how visible the player is (all the grays in between dark (0) and light (100).

Would anyone have a solution to this? I'm not sure if this has something to do with a shader or whatnot.

Thanks for your time in reading this message.
powly
Level 4

View Profile WWW