Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411283 Posts in 69325 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 29, 2024, 06:20:07 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)How good do you have to be to find work?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: How good do you have to be to find work?  (Read 1245 times)
meganrose
Level 0

View Profile
« on: January 11, 2018, 01:21:10 PM »

Hi there!

I'm an aspiring concept artist, but I don't have any formal training. I was wondering how skilled do you have to be in order to be hired for work?

At the moment this is my skill level:

TEETH
Level 0

who the hell uses aim or msn anymore

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2018, 03:18:19 PM »

Depends if you're looking for stable income or just freelance. Freelancing is easier since there's really not much of a contract and it's usually a one time thing per commissioner. I've only done freelancing, but I would imagine stable income would be harder to get without formal training since businesses usually like that, but with a really good portfolio and some contacts it's probably not impossible. Shrug

I would say your art is definitely good enough for some freelancing. It's hard to judge though by just one picture. Take a look in the portfolio section for an idea of what other people are doing and go from there. Making a living as an artist can be difficult and finding an audience for your work has a little bit of a luck aspect to it. Persistence is key! Good luck!

pyxelbit
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2018, 05:01:36 PM »

it also depends on how fast you do something like this. speed is as important as skill for most customers, especially with per hour rates of course

My Artstation Portfolio click here
-Ross
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2018, 05:14:42 PM »