Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411505 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 07:55:43 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)Best way to create non tileable texture
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Best way to create non tileable texture  (Read 974 times)
Trese759
TIGBaby

View Profile
« on: April 03, 2018, 09:19:00 AM »

Good evening, I'm new to the world of texturing and I have some questions about creating realistic non-procedural materials.

I created a texture for a wooden bridge and I wondered what was the best way to make it realistic. First I created a square texture on Substance Designer (SD_Wood).

Once applied to the model on Blender it is repeated several times and I do not really like the result (Blender_Tilable).

I then imported the texture on photoshop to customize it a little (4096 x 1024) (PS_Custom).

Now the result is more pleasant (Blender_Custom).

My questions are:

1. Is this the best solution?

2. Are there any other ways to get this kind of result?

3. If this is the best solution, how can I regenerate the normal map, height map, ao, roughness etc. ?

4. From a theoretical point of view a non-square texture, but that is still 2^, is not recommended or can be used for the development of a videogames?

Thanks in advance for any clarifications.

Have a nice day!
muki
Level 2

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2018, 03:41:35 PM »

This is not ideal for games because of the sheer size (4k x 1k) of the texture. It isn't that modern hardware can't handle the resolution, just inefficient.