Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411279 Posts in 69323 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 04:52:26 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudioGetting 32 independent audio channels out of a game engine
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Getting 32 independent audio channels out of a game engine  (Read 966 times)
Miszka0112
Level 0

View Profile
« on: April 07, 2018, 04:29:26 PM »

I am an audio researcher developing new audiovisual technologies and currently interested in new applications for games, especially in areas of VR arcades, large immersive spaces, 360 degree installations and even escape rooms.

I am wondering if anyone has any ideas how to get 32 independent channels (or more) of audio output in real-time from a game engine like Unity that can be spatially mapped to XY coordinates of virtual objects in a screen, or the XYZ coordinates for a spatial enclosure, when most game engines only allow for fixed pre-defined output formats such as stereo, 5.1 or 7.1.

I have an executive summary of the technology online at (the link also includes my email address): http://bit.ly/pixelphonics

Thanks,
M
Richard Kain
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2018, 03:43:49 PM »

Well, and this is just for starters, you would first need hardware that can actually handle multi-channel output. 32 independent hardware outputs isn't going to be anything to sniff at, either. Most computer systems don't actually support that kind of audio output. Most of them only support 5.1, 7.1, etc... through their standard audio output ports, or through HDMI. This is where we generally run into a bottleneck. Then there's the fact that most computer systems simply don't allow the selection of multiple audio output devices. That is actually one of the biggest hurdles you'll have to overcome.