Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411509 Posts in 69375 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 11:25:54 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Best framework/least effort for RPG
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Best framework/least effort for RPG  (Read 1004 times)
ekt
Level 0

View Profile
« on: April 15, 2018, 07:53:10 AM »

I have this very young cousin fond of rpg/j-rpg who begs me to help him develop one.
He lacks in talent, constancy and attention span like any normal fourteen year old while I am old and sure af we won't go anywhere.
But he is also the only relative who shares with me the passion for video games
And I think it might be a formative occasion anyway, at least to show him that making video games is a strenuous job.

I'm a developer for work, and develop games in the free time (intially my own c++ engine, now mainly unity)
I'm not afraid to write code, but I don't have the time nor the energy to start from scratch.

So my question is, what is the fastest way to come to a result today?
At the time there was RPG Maker. Is it still the top or is it any better?
I saw a framework named ORK for unity but I didn't investigate.

The plan would be to have a story that end in three scenes.
He would draw art and write the story.
His last favorites games are IB, Mad Father, Which House and Misao (I don't even know one of them!)

thanks

qMopey
Level 6

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2018, 10:24:24 AM »

Wouldn't that be RPG Maker?
-Ross
Level 1

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2018, 12:53:56 PM »