Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411282 Posts in 69325 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 11:38:52 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneraltop-down game in javascript?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: top-down game in javascript?  (Read 1271 times)
Neucifer
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: July 30, 2018, 08:25:40 AM »

hey all, I'm a junior web dev by trade but really interested in starting a game project.

I'd like to do a top-down game, something like a roguelike or zeldalike, and I was wondering if a language like javascript would be a good fit or handicap, and also what resources I could use to get started.

thanks so much for any help. Smiley
MSThalamus
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2018, 08:49:09 AM »

Hey there! What language you use will depend to a large extent on the engine you choose. Unity, for example, supports javascript and C# natively. Personally, I would choose C# over javascript, but I understand that people have their preferences and working within what you already know has its benefits. But to answer your question more directly, yes, javascript can be a viable option if your game engine natively supports it.
Neucifer
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2018, 09:13:32 AM »

Hey there! What language you use will depend to a large extent on the engine you choose. Unity, for example, supports javascript and C# natively. Personally, I would choose C# over javascript, but I understand that people have their preferences and working within what you already know has its benefits. But to answer your question more directly, yes, javascript can be a viable option if your game engine natively supports it.

with a little digging, it seems unity users are discouraged from using js in lieu of c# -- their js-like unityscript is being removed.