Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411490 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 05:46:23 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralDo you remember working on your first game?
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Do you remember working on your first game?  (Read 3083 times)
Izkimar
Level 0

View Profile
« on: August 02, 2018, 01:59:57 PM »

I've been gaming for a long time now, and MMORPG's happen to be what I enjoy the most. Over this time, I have had the pleasure of testing a lot of AAA games, and working with some awesome devs. Experiencing this really sparked my interests in game design, and finally I have decided to learn to make my own games.

I am a complete and utter noob, and I have almost zero programming experience! "Went to university for a semester as a computer engineer, so little exposure to C++." Other than that, I have really no experience. Thus, I decided to start with something easy. I am currently making my first projects on Game Maker, and learning GML.

I already finished my first super small project, and am currently working on another, you can watch the experience here:

"I also have some game dev interviews on my channel. You both laugh at my terrible dev skills, and my super awkward interviewing skills!" I interviewed both Colin Johanson of AmazonGS/ANet, and Crowfall Devs J.Todd Coleman and Gordon Walton.

Anyways, documenting my process as a noob got me thinking. What were other people's first projects? Do you look back at them and laugh in embarrassment? Or were you a total beast and made a masterpiece first try?

TL;DR: Do you remember working on your first game? What was it, and how bad/good were you?
MSThalamus
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2018, 02:53:57 PM »