Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411493 Posts in 69372 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 25, 2024, 05:27:45 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesign[GAME IDEA][FEEDBACK] Dungeon Safari: high speed dungeon crawling
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [GAME IDEA][FEEDBACK] Dungeon Safari: high speed dungeon crawling  (Read 833 times)
ideathing
Level 0

View Profile
« on: September 11, 2018, 03:00:34 AM »

Dungeon Safari [WIP title]
A single player racing game in which the player controls an old-timey car embellished with armor pieces and rides it through a monster and obstacle-filled subterranean dungeon.

Hi everyone, I am happy to share this idea with you and hear your thoughts and tips to make this work as a game, which I am absolutely inclined to make. I am fairly new here: I am a solo game developer (hobbyist for now) working on several projects on Unreal Engine.

So, the core idea is pretty simple: the goal of the game is to reach the finish line of each level of the dungeon. The player may have the ability to control the vehicle speed but I don't know yet if it would be better to have branching rails, or the ability to steer or change lane (like an old-school racing game).

Players may choose the party of adventures driving, each with its own quick because adventures will offer ways to eliminate or avoid obstacles: the jousting knight could knock skeletons and maybe help steer; the sorcerer might be able to put defensive shields...

There might be lockable vehicles like a multistory coach, a unicorn-motorcycle (god I love this one!) and they might need some kind of fuel like crystals, vials... souls?

As you see, it is definitely not defined yet, for example: what about boss fights? perhaps you need to chase or run from them while fighting.