Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411512 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 06:18:53 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsA 2D multiplayer infection game
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: A 2D multiplayer infection game  (Read 753 times)
Alce
Level 0

Twitter: @Alce_X

View Profile WWW
« on: September 24, 2018, 01:48:53 PM »

While I love game jams, the itch to start a longer term sanity project has been gnawing at me lately... so I finally decided to listen to it! I want to use this project as an excuse to try and learn new things, so I decided to try something I've never done before: an online multiplayer game. The plan is to make it using Construct 3.

I want to make an infection game like one of my favorite multiplayer mods ever, Zombie Plague for Counter-Strike 1.6. It's a cool mod where one player starts as a zombie and has to infect the other human players to turn them into zombies. But how will I make my game special?

Thing is... I hated most of the ZP servers I found. They were bloated with extra weapons, zombie types and power-ups and most of maps heavily favored humans over zombies. What I want to replicate with this game is the one server I loved. It was quite unique compared to other servers: it used the vanilla version of ZP, and only used traditional CS 1.6 maps. The latter in particular sounds a bit weird, but hear me out, it improved the gameplay in multiple ways.