Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411500 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 25, 2024, 11:43:15 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralUnable to find someone to work with & I don't know why.
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Unable to find someone to work with & I don't know why.  (Read 1240 times)
MadByte
« on: October 11, 2018, 12:24:30 PM »

I mean, I'm pretty handicapped:

• My spoken/written english isn't good
  • I'm not a professional or well experienced developer or artist
  • I tend to produce unfinished content
  • I'm from Germany - & who likes germans anyway? Wink

But does that mean that I'm not qualified to work with other ppl in general?

I often see posts from beginners that read like this:Reddit

ppl who start with game development often tend to be overambitious, having unrealistic expectations (like earning lots
of money with the first game project) or simply misjudge their skills or the skills of others which inevitable
lead to failure. So I ask myself, am I one of them?

First off, I'm not really a beginner. I'm working on my relationship with game development for like 6-7 years now. It's not
an easy, nor an very successful relationship, but it's fun.
Also, when working on a project I do it for the creative process, not for any kind of profit. I'm not interested in
selling games. I want to create a game that I would like to play myself, I want the process of building the game,
developing cool ideas and seeing them grow to working systems and features. And I always try to improve my abilities in
coding, art and game design. This is meant to be a hobby for me - with the possibility that it's getting more then that
if the work is good enough.

I think that this is a healthy way of thinking about that whole topic. But what is the problem then?