Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411507 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 12:25:25 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsA sandbox game on GPU
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: A sandbox game on GPU  (Read 3330 times)
NelStuff
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: October 14, 2018, 04:59:04 AM »

A sandbox game in development

Me:
Hi! I'm Nel and I'm creating my dream sandbox voxel game. I'm from Belgium, I'm a computer scientist/engineer and I have a PhD in artificial intelligence (deep learning). I have a passion for exploration games, sandbox games, experimental games, game development and classical piano (playing and listening). My dream is to be able to develop games full time for the rest of my life.

The Game:
The game I'm developing is a solo project (for now). It is a sandbox game, meaning that you are free to choose how to approach the content, similar to a child playing with sand in a sandbox without any rules. It is an open world allowing you to explore when and where you want. There are three core gameplay mechanics: exploring, collecting/gathering and creating/crafting/building.
The engine of the game works with voxels, meaning that the world is one big 3D grid and each element in the grid is called a voxel. Voxels have many different properties like occupancy, velocity, pressure, material types, etc..
The game runs almost exclusively on your graphics card. This allows you to have more impact than just modifying voxel by voxel. This also enables the simulation of flowing water, sliding sand and falling rocks.

Scenario / Context / Gameplay