Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411507 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 12:28:43 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)"Great Monument Valley vibe here" - people say
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: "Great Monument Valley vibe here" - people say  (Read 1471 times)
Max Rudek
Level 0

Indeep Studios

View Profile WWW
« on: October 16, 2018, 05:56:16 AM »

Hi, I'm a developer of Sole Light.. and yes more or less the game was inspired by a Monument Valley but mostly in how it looks and feels kinda "surreal". I share a videos and screenshots of my game over the social media, reddit etc. and people tend to say "Nice Monument Valley vibe.." or "Reminds me of Monument Valley" it surely is but do we call almost any pixel platformer "nice Mario vibe here" ? I can't figure out if it's good that people compare my game's mood and art with MV or not.. I'm not making a clone, I couldn't I'm a solo developer, I'd never achieve such greatness but I chose a style.. it fits me well and I can express myself via this style. Question now, should I rather take this "comparision" positively or negatively?

I don't know if I'll ever achieve half of that great MV look.. but I do my best
Thank you.

Monument Valley / Sole Light

JobLeonard
Level 10

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2018, 02:21:34 PM »

You're basically asking for the distinction between copying someone and being inspired by someone. It's actually more of a gradient, really. If you like an aesthetic, learning by copying it a perfectly fine starting point, but it inspiration also requires insight. It requires getting what makes something tick and being able to play with that, intuitively or not.