Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411279 Posts in 69323 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 03:40:44 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Getting a unique value for every pixel in a vertex shader, not using uv
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Getting a unique value for every pixel in a vertex shader, not using uv  (Read 1125 times)
brantkings
Level 0

I like games

View Profile WWW
« on: October 29, 2018, 03:52:10 PM »

Hey!

I am trying to make a distortion effect vertex-fragment shader! I am pretty new to shaders in general, probably don't know what I am doing, and I am having some trouble with it.

The effect is: from a distortion texture, I get a vector xy of the direction of the distortion through the rg part of the color, and get the intensity of the distortion from the blue. Then I use _Time to scroll where I sample from it.I am extending the Unity's default Sprite shader.

Sprite without the shader, with it, and then it combined with the animation.

What I did is the distortion effect in the middle. It's been pretty hard to do something pixel perfect. What I'm trying to do is taking the uv coordinate, and using the width and height of the MainTexture to get a integer value that's gonna be the same for every pixel of the texture. I do that so everyone from the same pixel can sample from the same position of the distortion texture.

Code:
int pixelX = round(uv.x * _MainTex_TexelSize.z) % _MainTex_TexelSize.z;
int pixelY = round(uv.y * _MainTex_TexelSize.w) % _MainTex_TexelSize.w;
The effect is more or less what I want (I still need to tweak the distortion texture).