Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411507 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 06:34:56 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsVernal Edge: Character Action Metroidvania
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Vernal Edge: Character Action Metroidvania  (Read 31178 times)
HyMyNameIsMatt
Level 1

Vernal Edge

View Profile
« on: November 01, 2018, 04:34:41 PM »

Before giving the devlog a read, the game is on Kickstarter:
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/vernaledge/vernal-edge/posts/2845318

And there's a free to play demo available on Itch:
https://plusw.itch.io/vernal-edge-kickstarter-demo

------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi, I'm Matt and I'm working on Vernal Edge. I'm a pixel animator and environment artist, and I'm learning how to code in Game Maker Studio 2 to create this project.  In the interest of transparency I'm starting a devlog and updating it on the first of every month.  If you have any questions about the game please ask, and I make more frequent posts and updates on twitter if you're into that.

The game is a platformer focused on the main character Vernal, with a focus on deep combat mechanics, and a world you can explore very freely.  You explore the fractured and floating remains of a country that was ripped apart like this years ago by a mysterious event.  The main character, Vernal, searches these lands to find their father whom they've never met, who supposedly lived in this area during the fracturing, and are not looking for a friendly reunion. The main inspirations for this game are Kingdom Hearts 2, the Devil May Cry series, and Wind Waker.  For this first post I wanna talk about my intentions behind the combat system, and how that will work, as well as my intentions for the world and how you'll be navigating it.

Combat: