Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411490 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 25, 2024, 12:29:37 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogs[Released!] Retromancer - Gratuitously retro-styled twin-stick shooter
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [Released!] Retromancer - Gratuitously retro-styled twin-stick shooter  (Read 1836 times)
SpinfoamGames
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: November 16, 2018, 03:46:26 PM »

Teaser Trailer

Class demo video

I wanted to build something "small" in Unreal Engine 4, so I started playing around with twin-stick shooter ideas. Nothing is ever actually small though, so after a troubling number of false starts I wound up landing on this visually extra-retro-styled idea. (The sprites are from Oryx's delightful "Ultimate Roguelike Tileset".)

Gameplay is more or less in the direction of Robotron at the moment -- I'm still working out how many modern ideas to include (upgrades? perks? level ups? etc?).

There are 30 levels planned out and about 30 different monster types at the moment, with the idea that you could keep looping after finished the 30 levels with increased difficulty each time if you wanted to.

I'd really like to take this idea through to completion and a release, but I'd love to hear feedback and opinions about whether anybody is looking for another twin-stick shooter (especially a lo-fi one like this) these days...?
« Last Edit: June 06, 2019, 04:56:19 PM by SpinfoamGames » Logged

SpinfoamGames
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2018, 12:59:27 PM »

Been plugging away at Retromancer development and put together a handful of GIFs of both old and new content: